Admission requirements for study abroad and exchange programmes

Admission as a study abroad or exchange student is based on three or four factors:

1. Academic requirements

  • You should have completed at least two years of university education
  • You must have a GPA of at least 3.2 out of 4.0 (or equivalent)

  • Your academic background must be relevant to the courses you are applying for

If you are an Erasmus+ student, please ask your home coordinator whether these criteria apply to you.

2. English language requirements

You will need to demonstrate your proficiency in English, preferably by means of an IELTS test though we also accept TOEFL, the Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE) and the Certificate of Advanced English (CAE). We need to receive an original report with test results that are no more than two years old. 

This requirement does not apply if you:

  • completed your secondary education in Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ireland, New Zealand, the UK or the USA 
  • have an International Baccalaureate diploma. 


If you are an Erasmus+ student, please ask your home coordinator whether you need to supply a test report.

The minimum test scores required are:

  • IELTS Academic: 6.5

  • CPE: Certificate

  • CAE:  C or above

  • TOEFL: 90 (internet-based) and 575 (paper-based).

If you take a TOEFL test, please ask the Educational Testing Service (ETS) to send your scores directly to us. The TOEFL institution code for Leiden University is 0504. Please note that we do not accept TOEFL ITP (institutional) tests.

Are you a Chinese national? Then you also need to get a Nuffic Certificate. Please read more on the Nuffic website.

3. Course capacity

Admission to a specific course will also depend on the maximum number of students each class can accommodate.

4. Exchange agreements

If you are an exchange student your admission is based on a reciprocal exchange agreement as well. If this agreement is limited to a specific field or discipline, you do not automatically have the right to enrol in courses offered by other faculties or departments.

Last Modified: 03-02-2015